Kuwaiti star says domestic workers shouldn’t get days off, sparks outrage

zanabism:

sniper-at-the-gates-of-heaven:

“For people who want to go get a Filipino domestic worker, what are these ridiculous work contracts you’ve got to sign? The woman I met with was reading out the rules to me and I was just shocked. Put aside that they need to be given a break every five hours, that’s normal. But, how can you have a ‘servant’ in your house who gets to keep their passport with them? Where are we living? If they ran away and went back to their country, who’ll refund me?,” she said.

Al Qattan didn’t stop at that but also went on to object to a rule that grants a worker a day off per week.

“Even worse, is that they get a day off every single week! What’s left? Honestly, with this new contract, I just wouldn’t ‘get’ a Filipino ‘maid.’ She’d only work six days a week and get four days off a month,” she added.

lol steal everything she’s got and bust her face up on the way out

For years we’ve been talking about how slave labour of ‘migrant workers’ from Somalia the Philippines Pakistan Nepal AND MORE is alive and well in the khaleeji states and for years these fuckers have been lining up to say

‘This is propaganda!! We treat migrant workers with respect!! Their conditions aren’t as bad as they say!! They’re just greedy!! You just hate Arabs so you’re making lies about us!!’

Enough. All of the gulf states EVERY ONE OF THEM was built by slave labourers. Do not vacation there. Do not ogle its luxuries. All of these countries are a fucking mirage built atop corpses of young slave labourers and I’m so fucking thrilled this piece of trash decided to oust herself.

Kuwaiti star says domestic workers shouldn’t get days off, sparks outrage

out-there-on-the-maroon:

gigi-tastic:

madmaudlingoes:

thisishowyoumakemovies:

If you’re gonna be mad at ScarJo…

Please also be mad at director Rupert Sanders, the cis white dude directing Rub and Tug and who directed ScarJo in whitewashed Ghost in the Shell.

Please, be mad at them both.

This is the same asshole who slept with Kristen Stewart and then gets to call it “an exciting mistake” while she was crucified for cheating on her boyfriend. Blecccccch.

WHILE HE WAS MARRIED.. This fucker was married to a woman for TEN YEARS AND THEY HAVE 2 KIDS. His wife even plays Kristen  Stewart’s mom in that stupid Snow White movie they all made together. But yeah using your power and influence to have an affair with an actress who works for you is totally “an exciting mistake”

Kristen Stewart had to publicly apologize a lot and people still didn’t let it go. She was not invited back for the film’s sequel, when she’d been the lead in the first one. She’s been in indie films ever since. 

Rupert Sanders has been getting big movie deals though. And I don’t remember much outrage over him, a married man, abusing his power as a director, by having an affair with a woman young enough to be his child. 

starlightomatic:

autismserenity:

blazinaces:

shrapnel-to-the-heart:

Honestly how are the ace/aro communities even doing any harm to the LGBT+ community?? People keep saying that they’re “taking LGBT resources” but like… people aren’t gonna use same-sex/gender resources if they don’t apply to them?? Like what even counts as a resource anyway?? All we’re doing is showing up at pride events and making blog posts?? The only argument as to why we shouldn’t be included is because we’re not oppressed enough….? We don’t want your resources or whatever we just want to be accepted as part of the community

Just to add to that, if we were using LGBT+ resources, how would that be a waste?? Like if that’s something we need then the resources would still be going towards helping someone.

If an aro/ace person needs to call a hotline specifically because of their orientation, then that’s not a waste.

If an aro/ace person needs to see a therapist/counselor/supports for LGBT+ people because of their orientation, then that’s not a waste.

If an aro/ace person needs to stay at an LGBT+ shelter because their parents kicked them out, or their spouse/romantic partner/friend/etc tried to used corrective rape to “change” or “fix” them, or are without a place to stay for whatever reason, then that’s NOT a waste.

OK so like by the way guys

In the nonprofit industry, by and large, having MORE clients using the resources you offer is a GOOD thing.

I think this should be signal boosted to the stars actually.

Because in my experience, most people, no matter what the resource is or who it’s for, try to avoid using it and tell themselves it’s not for them.

Like, even something like a queer youth group. Even people who are definitely sure they “count” will so often be like, “I mean, I don’t really need support or anything, that’s really for other kids.”

The main exception is if all your friends already go and it feels like just a normal thing to you.

Nonprofits are usually bending over backwards trying to include anybody who might possibly ever need their resources even the tiniest bit!!!

I know this from both working and volunteering in the nonprofit field for over 15 years btw. Everything from queer youth groups in SF and Hayward to environmental law firms.

(And this is a really dense, high population area with an extremely high cost of living. So there’s no “sure, but in most places there are more people in need.”)

And part of the reason they’ll bend over backwards to include everyone is that they really really really want to help as many people in need as possible, and they don’t want to risk losing anybody who even sort of counts.

But guess what?

A BIG part of the reason is MONNNEEEEEEEEEEYYYYY.

THE MORE PEOPLE THEY SERVE, THE MORE FUNDING THEY GET.

I am gonna repeat that.

BOTH GRANTS AND DONORS GIVE MORE MONEY TO NONPROFITS THAT HELP MORE PEOPLE,

and also,

MANY GRANTS REQUIRE AN ORGANIZATION TO HELP A CERTAIN NUMBER OF PEOPLE EVERY YEAR.

And even in a super queer, super dense area like this, we’re always trying to find more people to help.

If you have a really really specific situation like a homeless shelter, then yeah, ONE of the services they provide (beds) is finite. But even then, they want to help as many other people with clothes, food, support groups, job counselors, or whatever else they have to offer, as possible!

When they have more people they help, they get more funding and visibility, and they can hire more people TO help. It creates jobs and gets them into a positive cycle (the opposite of a vicious cycle) of helping more and more people!

P.S. When a nonprofit like The Trevor Project trains its volunteers to take calls from aces and/or aros… which is the main example I see her thrown around as “they’re stealing our resources!”…

That’s not an example of aces/aros stealing things. They got nothing to do with it. That’s am example of a nonprofit seeing a need and deciding they want to fill it.

It’s incredibly disrespectful to ignore nonprofits’ boundaries and act like they aren’t able to make their own decisions about who to help. It’s disrespectful to everyone involved.

Yep, can confirm from having been the president of a nonprofit that the thing we were most nervous about when submitting grant applications was “Are their enough people using our resources for our application to be accepted?”

king-nayame:

gaycism:

stonersquabbles:

The fact that the gay community needs like 18 app major apps just to fuck or meet someone is very telling. Grindr for white twinks, scruff and growlr for white bears and chasers, jack’d for anyone who isn’t white (and weed), etc… Half of the profiles on Grindr say things like “No fats, fems, or blacks”, “Asians, move along” or “White only please. Not racist, just a preference.” We scream at the world for treating us like outcasts yet we segregate and marginalize ourselves. Don’t ever forget that misogyny, transphobia and racism are just as present in the lgbtq+ community as it is amongst heterosexual people.

The white gays on tumblr dot com when they see this post

“Misogyny transphobia and racism are JUST AS PRESENT IN THE LGBTQ+ COMMUNITY AS IT IS AMONGST HETEROSEXUAL PEOPLE.”

thebowerstudio:

Isa’s drawing has been making the rounds on the internet without credit. Companies and individuals have also been using the image for their own profit. Currently NO OTHER COMPANY is authorized to use this image! If you see it somewhere that isn’t The Bower Studio, it’s stolen. Please report it to us.

Please note that we are not concerned with people who have this image as a tattoo. As long as the tattoo artist acknowledges that this design is the work of another artist, there’s no problem. Art should be shared! But it shouldn’t be stolen.

Stolen art underminds artists and prevents them from being able to earn much needed income. We’re not the only ones who have had to deal with this either. Many big companies and individuals steal art from artists all the time. Be mindful when you shop and keep an eye out for stolen designs. Support artists and they can keep creating things for others to enjoy!