This would never happen to a white woman.

blvckgeezus:

lexivee45:

rafi-dangelo:

A Virginia mother who placed a recording device in her 9-year-old daughter’s backpack to help prove to school officials that she was being bullied has been charged by police with a felony.

Local news station WAVY reports that Norfolk resident Sarah Sims grew fed up with her local elementary school’s failure to take action to prevent her daughter from being bullied. To put the school’s feet to the fire, she planted a recorder in her daughter’s backpack to show them direct evidence that she was a victim of a bullying campaign.

However, when the school found the recorder and then moved her daughter to a different classroom.

What surprised her even more, says tells WAVY, is that she was subsequently charged with a felony.Specifically, WAVY says police charged Sims with “use of device to intercept oral communication and misdemeanor contributing to the delinquency of a minor,” which could carry up to five years in prison.

(cont.)

1) Little Black girls are two to five times more likely to be suspended from school that white girls. (https://www.usnews.com/news/education-news/articles/2017-05-09/black-girls-are-twice-as-likely-to-be-suspended-in-every-state) Claims of bullying are taken less seriously from kids you believe are already problem children. 

2) Black girls are perceived as older and less innocent than white girls and that disparity in perception begins as early as five years old. (http://www.cnn.com/2017/06/28/health/black-girls-adultification-racial-bias-study/index.html) So your Black daughter should be able to take care of herself better than her white counterparts if she’s indeed being bullied. 

3) Black people are assumed to be less trustworthy than white people. (http://www.pnas.org/content/108/19/7710.full) Therefore, a white child who reports bullying is more likely to be taken at their word. The same is true for the parents who report bullying to the school. 

4) Black people are more likely to be punished and more severely. (https://www.nytimes.com/2016/12/17/opinion/sunday/unequal-sentences-for-blacks-and-whites.html) At every level of the criminal justice system, there’s a disparity between white consequences and Black consequences and in any given situation, there’s a higher probability of someone seeking legal recourse against a Black person than a white one. 

5) White women get to be protected and coddled and Black women do not. I don’t need a link for that because we all have eyes and ears.

UPDATE: THE CHARGES HAVE BEEN DROPPED!

https://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation-now/2017/11/29/mom-recording-device-felony-dropped/907092001/

A felony? For being a good parent?

wetwareproblem:

spiderman-against-pedos:

elasticcockatrice:

catalystforameow:

exigetspersonal:

bpdkipland:

bitchstew:

boggoth:

bpdkipland:

bpdkipland:

my favorite picture ever is the one that says “HELL IS FULL, BITCH” and then it has the national suicide prevention hotline on it. it makes me smile every time 

THIS ONE!!!!

I wonder who made these! I have this one saved:

Chaotic Good

*slamming my fists on table* I NEED MORE!!!! MORE!!!!

If anyone has the skeleton apologizing for triggering someone, I’d like that for my collection, please.

Here!

Plus some more^^

ME ME ME

Gangster Popeye, the inventor of this style and artist behind several of these pieces (I’m not sure about all of them, though they appear to be her style) is a Salvadorean trans woman. Her Patreon is here.

trashmouse:

ohnoagremlin:

one-time-i-dreamt:

dopeluminarydreamer:

dontwantthenextcommanderiwantyou:

waluwadjet:

stephanemiroux:

sprmint-bkgsoda:

Just like I said. Illegal adoption.

https://abcnews.go.com/Blotter/immigrant-mom-loses-effort-regain-son-us-parents/story?id=16803067

Here are the thieves btw:

im actually physically ill

Keep this post alive so that when CARLOS is old enough he’ll know these KIDNAPPERS stole him from his MOTHER!

Guatemalan mom: “Please help me my son was taken from me”

Those two assholes: “Lol finders keepers bitch lmao”

Carlos was taken from his mom, Encarnacion Bail Romero after she was arrested during a work raid. Her words, “Nobody could help me because I don’t speak English,” are still resonating deeply within me. This child was kidnapped from a loving mother, and she went to hell and backwards trying to get him back, and a judge literally told her she had no rights to her own child.

image

https://twitter.com/evanchill/status/1010399759088193536

Completely unfit parents can get their children back like it’s nothing and this poor woman who loves her child and just wants him with her again cannot? How is this not human trafficking/kidnapping? 

Also:

The judge said the biological mother had no rights to even see her child, according to the mother’s lawyer.

Asked if the Mosers would allow Bail Romero to see the child, the Mosers’ attorney, Joseph Hensley, said the couple was “not willing to comment on that at this time.” source

reminder that many children are funneled specifically to Christian families and communities for the same reasons they always have: destroy culture, stack votes, add bodies to communities that otherwise wouldn’t hold majorities. it is literal, actual trafficking.

This is a part of genocide.  Removing the children from their parents, who generally desperately love and want to raise them, and placing them with white American families is a way to erase their culture from existence without the ugliness of directly killing children.  But it’s still ugly, and it cares nothing for the actual welfare of the child.

callmegoddess618:

esperhabasi:

esperhabasi:

charlesoberonn:

dandalf-thegay:

goforbronze:

Hey, quick question… WHAT the FUCK

So workers are supposed to just challenge federal labor violations on an individual basis (which would almost certainly be ineffective or involve costly legal battles)… or trust every business/ corporation not to violate any federal labor laws?

Why is the Supreme Court makes it harder to enforce the laws they’re supposed to enshrine and protect?

wh..

image

it’s like we’re rolling back to the time of the west virginia coal wars..

image

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/West_Virginia_coal_wars

This is one of those things that could have been fucking avoided if Trump hadn’t been elected. Let’s all take a beat to remember that the 5th vote was his pick for SCOTUS. It also your have been avoided if the GOP controlled Congress for as long as it did because let’s all remember that SCOTUS sat with only 8 Justices for almost a year while Congress refused to even hold a confirmation hearing on Obama’s pick. Elections have consequences. Every time. Every single one of them.

mytranshealth:

shutupjames:

madmadcat:

45caliberaspirin:

gaywrites:

Coming soon: MyTransHealth, an app connecting trans people to knowledgeable, reliable and affordable healthcare providers. 

19% of trans people have been refused healthcare because of their gender identity. 50% of trans people have had to teach their doctors about trans-related medical care. 28% of trans people have been harassed in medical settings. This app is desperately needed. Follow them at mytranshealth

I AM CRYING HOLY SHIT. This is so important. You know I’m serious because I am actually using these things called capitalization and punctuation. You guys. Please. Please boost the hell out of this. It means so much.

*SLAMS THE SHIT OUT OF THE REBLOG BUTTON*

omg pls make this international / not just US-centric!

We won’t rest until every trans person on the planet has access to safe, affordable, and reliable health care. 

sourcedumal:

secretallie:

Terry Crews of Brooklyn 99 gives the best advice on physical fitness.

Seriously, his Reddit AMA is the most genuinely upbeat, positive actor interview ever. Another great bit:

To be honest, this was the healthiest advice for getting into working out I’ve ever read, and it really was the inspiration for me to start running and going to the gym.

No judgement, no “you need to be doing this” mess. Just a simple “do what you can. and feel comfortable”

strongorcbutch:

steadfastconfusion:

strongorcbutch:

preta-dreaming:

preta-dreaming:

cis people getting all their info on trans people from trans men hurts trans women tbqh

i hear so many people say “my trans male friend told me that [thing that practically does not apply to trans women] and therefore we need [thing that has horrible consequences for trans women]”

This is something which I see on Tumblr a lot. It’s really important to remember that there are issues that trans women face that have zero to do with trans men, so it needs to be only trans women weighing in on those things. I frequently see trans men for example weighing in on the problems with modern mainstream drag (RPDR et al.) and declaring them “not really problems because it doesn’t bother me personally”. That sort of thing needs to stop yesterday. 

As a person who is uneducated on the issue… What is the problem with mainstream drag?

Whew…uh. Alright, short version. 

So back in the day there was ball culture. Ball culture was the precursor to modern drag. Without ball culture, there is no drag. That’s the first thing you need to know.

So back in those days, “trans” wasn’t a word we really had yet in American english. “Transgender” hadn’t really been coined yet, even “transsexual” with all its problematic connotations barely existed outside of extremely clinical environments. But if you go back and read things actually written and said by the people who were in that early scene, they were primarily what we’d call “trans” today. And primarily people of color. For most of US history after colonialism happened, being trans and/or GNC has been dangerous, and for people of color extremely dangerous. Ball culture was a place for people of color with non-birth-assigned or variant gender expression to be themselves in a way that was both celebrated, and safe.

Things have changed, though, and not for the better. Over time, its become less celebration, and more spectacle. Less safe space, and more stage performance. There was always a stage, a show about it, but the ball culture was again about CELEBRATING the gender variant and non-conforming. Modern drag has become a parody, a point-and-gawk, the audience is primarily cis and white, and often even straight. 

Rather than people who are often not allowed to be themselves to be more themselves, modern drag has become about people becoming someone they’re not, stage personnas that are taken up for a show and then set aside after, by people who will then turn and mock and show bigotry towards the very people who were once a part of and represented by it. This has become deeply ingrained in modern drag, to the point that if a drag performer comes out as trans, scenes frequently turn on them. They’re told that they’re “taking it too far”, rather than revealing more of who they are. They’re often looked down on and even outright shunned from drag scenes if they dare come out as trans.

RuPaul and his TV show have only aided this selling out of the culture that was to the masses at the cost of who drag once existed to serve. Games that invite contestants to guess if someone is “female or (anti-trans slur)” are a prime example of this. It’s a little less funny when you realize bigots play that game all the time, only when they spot a trans woman they beat or even kill us. And RuPaul isn’t dumb. He’s been around long enough to know exactly what he’s doing, but he’s too busy making his TV show money to care. When people in the trans community have tried to reach out to him, he’s talked down to us, told us that we’re too young to know better. I’ve been around long enough and studied my history enough to know that HE SHOULD KNOW BETTER. He uses anti-trans slurs in a show with a primarily cis and surprisingly straight-heavy demographic. He uses his fame to continue to defame trans women, and rather than listen, he demeans further. His show has recently even banned trans women completely. Like reflect on how far that is, how much of a theft of culture that represents. 

The progenitor of drag was about celebrating trans and gnc people. Modern, mainstream drag is a sell-out making money on the backs of my sisters. That’s the problem. 

darthvigil:

karadanver:

when-in-doubt-sing:

arbitraryimposition:

thebutchriarchy:

Medusa with the Head of Perseus, Luciano Garbati, 2008

I adore how she carries his head low, at her side, and not aloft in triumph. This is not a self-aggrandizing hero lauding her great deed. This is a woman who wanted to be left the fuck alone.

Also look at her body. The double hips. The asymetrical boobs. She’s thin, but she’s realistic as hell. That’s a real woman.

And the look in her eyes. Damn.

SNUBES