kugomi:

most shows want to be progressive and diverse so they introduce gay characters or black characters etc etc. but you know what happens when they dont care about real diversity? about real representation? those same characters become heartless and evil. theyre killed off. lgbt characters are ALWAYS portrayed as inhumane because these people want to broaden their audience but dont care enough about who theyre representing.

shiro and adam were hyped so much when it was announced at sdcc. it couldve been explored beautifully but they killed shiro off, brought him back, then killed adam off for good.

keith and lance couldve been a powercouple but they decided to throw in a random ship with a redeemed female character and made allurance happen, when lance has been pestering allura for seasons about going out with him, and allura was already in love with lotor so lance is just her second choice.

ezor and zethrid also couldve been a good evil couple. they couldve been REDEEMED, but instead immediately after being shown to be gay, ezor chokes a 15 year old for the fun of it, and the only reason she even stops is because she was interrupted.

and dont forget that the thumbnails for season 7 were adashi and klance, the trailers for voltron since our earlier seasons have baited us with klance shots, the cast and crew constantly hinting at klance and saying they ship it too.

they NEVER cared about us. all theyve been doing this entire time is baiting us so we watch their show and pay their rent. thats all its ever been.

i was so, so excited to see adashi. shiro is a gay disabled and mentally ill asian man and the leader of voltron. hes been fighting in space for years and that was his dream. he left adam to fulfil his dream, when adam told him he would be putting everything at risk if he went on the mission. shiro and adam deserved to see each other again, but like every other show that has “”lgbt rep””, they kill off the gay characters.

no, voltron isnt only about the ships. it really isnt, but we have every right to get mad when the lgbt community is used and abused like this. its fucked up and dirty.

Leave a comment